OK – Blog one. Today’s the day…

OK, does anybody else but me do this? You get up in the morning and you think, “Today’s the day I’m going to do this…” It might be starting on your taxes, taking a long walk every morning, getting caught up on (fill in the uncompleted project of your choice here).

Well, today’s the day I start my blog. I thought my blog was going to be some kick-ass professional thing about form and content, and I could still write that blog someday. But today’s not the day for that. I’ve been reading Amy Poehler’s book (called Yes Please, for those of you who haven’t been paying attention) and I realized that my blog actually needs to be an expansion of the kinds of posts I’ve been putting on Facebook lately. I actually realized that my Facebook posts are my attempt to sneak a blog into my life in a very non-threatening way. (It’s just a Facebook post; it’s short; people will like it or respond or something equally fun. You can add photos of your dog or your friends or family or yourself as a kid – and people will like it or comment and that is fun.)

But this morning I read the second-to-last chapter of Amy’s book (it’s my blog so I can call her Amy as if we are great chums even though I’ve never met her and she has no idea who I am) and I realized that what I really want to do is write about my life. Not the big things like what I want to be when I grow up, but the little things, like finally cleaning all the junk out of my car’s back seat because I have no respect for someone with a messy car and yet I am that someone.

Here’s another thing about my own blog. It can be about anything I want, run any length I want and be profound or kind of stupid and it doesn’t matter because it’s mine. All of my other writing is for other people – for pay – so I have a responsibility to get it right. This writing is for me even though other people can read it – I am more than a bit of a self-aggrandizing ham after all – so I can say whatever I want, pretty much. (Imagine a well-worded legal statement here about slander, libel, copyright and all of those things that you would expect a professional writer to include here, except that this is my blog and so I don’t have to bother to look up that sort of thing on the Internet for you. I can just ask you to imagine it and we’re done here.)

Now, those of you who have read my professional writing will notice that some things are different here. One thing is I get to use the word “I” a lot. That’s because it’s my blog. Do you have any idea how irritating it is to write all the time and yet never get to say “I?” I particularly have trouble when doing other people’s Facebook posts. I want to reply with something like, “I know, that ceiling fan is totally amazing – I would totally want to have that in my house if it didn’t cost like fifty-thousand dollars or something totally crazy like that.” Instead I say something like, “It’s really amazing, isn’t it?”

So I guess my blog is also going to be a place where I get to say some of the things I never get to write when I write for money. I should also mention here that while I enjoy writing and am pretty darn good at it if I say so myself (and I do… frequently) I normally have no interest in writing when no money is involved. I am totally impressed with people who say things like, “Oh, I just have to write.” I don’t. I could easily spend days or weeks or maybe even months not writing and be pretty-much fine.

But now that I think about it, I do have a tendency to write long and rambling emails to friends for no particular reason (you all know who you are) and have fun conversations telling stories of my family or friends or just funny things to people that end up feeling a lot like writing this does.

Anyway, I have always said that one of these days I would start writing for myself. When I was old enough, experienced enough or needed to enough. And I guess today’s the day.

Today’s the day I start my blog.

One thought on “OK – Blog one. Today’s the day…

Leave a Reply

